Jump Into A New Adventure with Addison Cooke!

Jump Into A New Adventure with Addison Cooke!

[amazon_textlink asin=’0399173781′ text=’Addison Cooke and the Tomb of the Khan by Jonathan W. Stokes’ template=’ProductLink’ store=’dowt-20′ marketplace=’US’ link_id=’32d24096-d020-11e7-8830-0dbec03eb93b’]

Jump Into Adventure With Addison CookeI had not heard of Addison Cooke before I began to read this book, but the story is a fun and exciting adventure that any child will love!

There are not many books these days that capture the imaginations of boys, but this book certainly does.

The story begins as Addison Cooke, a cocky boy with a fantastic ability to talk his way out of nearly any situation, talks his way out of detention and heads home for summer vacation. He meets up with his little sister, Molly, and two friends, Raj and Eddie. Together they accompany his aunt and uncle to a museum where the curator unveils the remains of a Knight Templar who hid clues to the location of Genghis Khan’s tomb.

Now the children and their aunt and uncle are off to Hong Kong to kick off a quest to track down the clues and find the tomb, but they are not the only ones. The children must fend for themselves, continue their quest, and rescue their aunt and uncle from the clutches of evil Madame Feng and her henchmen.

This is a story that allows your child’s imagination to fly free.

Stories like this one allow your child to feel empowered as he follows the adventure alongside Addison. It is a tale celebrating the ability of youngsters to fight evil on their own and have fantastic and fun adventures along the way.

If the story captures your child’s imagination, you can expand the activity into a unit study! Addison Cooke’s quest to find the tomb of Genghis Khan can interest your child in a variety of “school” subjects.

Mongol Empire focus

You could use this story as the central piece in a unit study on Genghis Khan and the Mongol Empire of the 1200’s. There are many books about Genghis Khan’s life that would be a fantastic way to learn more.

Knights Templar focus

You could supplement the book with a study of the Knights Templar were and why they would have been wandering about through Mongol territory. You could add a Medieval Knights Templar journal and have your child do copy-work or sketch or simply journal in it.

Archaeology focus

Your child could explore the professions in the field of archaeology. There are wonderful books to introduce the profession to your child, but there are also archaeology kits to practice excavating artifacts and board games to role play as an archaeologist.

No matter what you choose to add, this fictional Addison Cooke adventure can be a wonderful place to start!

There is excitement, tension, adventure, and a lot of humor in this story and your child will love reading it!

[amazon_link asins=’0399173781,0147515637,0857232924,B00061MKN8,B000BMZ30O,B013R8VJRO,B009Z1MJ7M,B00HQOKIM8′ template=’ProductGrid’ store=’dowt-20′ marketplace=’US’ link_id=’dc5603a6-d013-11e7-aad8-0b18d15a39ba’]

Summary From The Publisher

Addison Cooke’s second laugh-out-loud adventure–a journey through Asia in pursuit of the legendary tomb of Genghis Khan!

Fresh off of a victorious treasure hunt and rescue mission in South America, Addison Cooke just can’t seem to steer clear of rogue bandits, pesky booby traps, and secret treasure troves. But it sure beats sitting around in school all day.

Addison’s aunt and uncle, on the other hand, are none too happy about their habit of attracting kidnappers. When they become pawns in a dangerous gang’s plan to steal the most prized possession of the notorious Mongolian leader Genghis Khan, Addison and his friends find themselves once again caught in the middle of a multi-million-dollar international heist. Armed with nothing but their wits and thirst for adventure, they travel across Asia in an attempt to rescue Addison’s family and stop the treasure from falling into the wrong hands.

Brimming with round-the-clock action and tons of laughter, Addison Cooke and the Tomb of the Khan is perfect for fans of Indiana Jones, ancient history, and James Patterson’s Treasure Hunters series.

About The Book

Addison Cooke and the Tomb of the Khan by Jonathan W. Stokes

Hardcover ($17.99)

464 Pages

Published Nov 14, 2017 by Philomel Books

ISBN 9780399173783

Ages: 8-12 (but teens will find it a fun read too!)

 

Feel Free to Share with Your Friends!
31